Yay! It’s Here

Posted: October 8, 2012 in Discussions, On Books
Tags: , ,

I hope you’re as excited as I am for this week’s book discussion. Ira Levin’s Rosemary’s Baby came Saturday. I’m a good third of the way through the book already (yes, it’s very short, 218 pages, think RL Stein’s books length). So far it’s been a pretty easy read, though a little slow in the beginning, and there are what I’m guessing are slang terms from the late sixties that I’m not entirely sure if I know what they mean (like a piece of furniture called a “secretary” which I’m guessing is like a wardrobe, but I really have no clue). However, the story line is intriguing.

For those of you who don’t know the story, or who may need a little push to pick it up and start reading it, here’s what I know about it:

Rosemary and her husband Guy have been on a waiting list to get an apartment in the Bramford building since they’d gotten married. When finally an apartment opens up, they go for it, despite having a larger apartment already lined up. Guy is an actor with some notoriety, having done TV and radio commercials and mostly on stage work, but is hoping to get his big break and get into movies as well. Rosemary was raised in a religious family, and had gone to a Catholic school as a child, however she no longer views religion as her family had. More than anything, Rosemary wants children, and she want to have them soon. Shortly after moving in to the apartment, Rosemary makes friends with a young woman named Terry. Terry is a recovering drug addict who was taken in by Rosemary and Guy’s neighbors, the Castevets. The night after the women meet, Rosemary and Guy return home after a night out to find Terry had leapt to her death. The suicide shocks Rosemary, especially since when she spoke with Terry last she seemed optimistic about her future. Through Terry’s death, the young couple and the Castevets become friends. The occasional odd occurrence, and the Castevet’s behavior point to there being something strange going on, and Rosemary can sense it, though she often seems to look the other way.

I know quite a bit more about the story, actually, but I’d rather not ruin it for someone who wants to read it. The point I’m at in the book, right now, is just as it’s beginning to get interesting, like wildly interesting and kind of crazy. There’s devil worship, and weird old people, and so much more, coming up.

If you haven’t read this book, you’ve got till friday to do so and join this week’s book discussion. I’ll try my hardest to not let that discussion run as long as last weeks. I didn’t even realize there was so much there until I was done.

Any way, keep reading and writing. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on Rosemary’s Baby.

Comments
  1. Oh, I have that book on my shelves. I’ll get on it.

  2. Just read Rosemary’s Baby about a month ago! Love it.

Leave a Reply

