A Horror Writer’s Favorite Time of Year

Posted: October 15, 2012 in Discussions
Tags: , , ,

I absolutely love Halloween. There’s just something magical about all the superstitions and lore surrounding it, as well as the spirit of the season, which quite frankly, is to get your pants scared off.

Just for fun,  I wanted to share with you all my favorite reasons to enjoy the season (Ha! I could be a poet. Kidding.)

  • You get to buy all the candy you want, then act like you won’t eat it all on the couch in front of the TV
  • You get to dress up as whatever you want to be. Super Toilet Man? Sounds like a great costume to me.
  • You get to prank and scare people, and it’s all part of the holiday
  • Carving pumpkins might be slimy, cold work (if you forget to bring them in before carving, like I do), but it’s so much fun, even if you’re over the age of twelve
  • This is the time of year when pumpkin, cinnamon, and all those yummy flavors are popular. Try Pumpkin Bread, it’s delicious.
  • It’s perfectly acceptable to go out on Devil’s Night, toilet paper your jerk neighbor’s house, and blame it on the kids. “Those little buggers. I’m surprised they didn’t get my house too!”
  • Costumes for pet. Now, this I don’t always agree with. I mean, if your dog hates her costume, don’t put it on her. But if your pets are those goofy ones that actually don’t mind sweaters and such, go a head, dress your dog as a spider, or Shreck, or something awesome. Or coordinate theirs with yours.
  • Halloween decorations are among my favorite. It doesn’t matter if they’re cheap dollar store ones, or a life-size moving, talking Jason from Friday the 13th that hacks at the air with his machete. Halloween decor is effin awesome.
  • Watching scary movies, just for an excuse to snuggle your significant other. “I can’t look!” (Bury your face in their shirt.)
  • Girls, now you may not all agree with this, but this time of year is perfect for strutting around in skimpy outfits at the bar. There’s no shame in it, so long as you’re not flashing people too.
  • Check out a haunted house. It might give you a good excuse to punch a terrible friend in the face. “Ooops! I thought you were the Werewolf. Sorry.” (wink-wink)
  • Adult costume parties? They’re just an excuse for us to dress up, act like goons, and recapture a bit of that magical spark we felt around Halloween as kids. Nothing wrong with that!
  • And last but not least, there’s the kids. Not only is it great to see their faces light up when they see a bag full of candy in their possession (not that it’s healthy, I know, but to me tradition is tradition, and that’s how I was raised), but it’s so much fun to sit on a porch where you know kids will be trick-or-treating and watch costumes. You’ll see some pretty inventive ones. One year a friend of mine went as a wedge of cheese, she made the whole thing herself with foam sheeting, hot glue, and spray paint. It was awesome.

Besides all that, near Halloween, I get more ideas than any other time of year. It seems there’s inspiration all around me, in movies, haunted houses, decorations, costumes, ghost stories, etc. A town ready for Halloween, is a horror writer’s wet dream.

Right now, I’ve got four ideas in the works, most of them with story lines already figured, they’re just waiting for me to add detail and breathe life into their characters. One, which is coming along wonderfully by the way, is about a group of friends who go fishing in a canyon-type area in Arizona. One friend lives near by and tells the others that a family of five was found slaughtered and the rumor is that a Big Foot type creature was responsible. Once there, two of them run into the creature, and rather than leave, they decide to stay (at the urging of one friend who is BIG on conspiracy theories) to see if they can capture proof that it does exist. Of course things will go terribly wrong, but I’m not entirely sure how I want it to end. Besides that, there’s a maniacal doctor story, a ghost car, and a coven of witches who suck the life from children. I’ve also had a great idea recently for a novel in which death, life, and age are entities that govern the flow of life on earth. They become disgusted with the ways of humanity and abandon our planet, stopping any deaths, births, or aging. The entire world is thrust into chaos as criminals realize they can be shot, but they cannot die. A hero (I haven’t chosen a character for this part quite yet) must rise amid the chaos, contact the entities and plead with them to return, while keeping their loved ones safe in a world gone mad. So, yea. That’s about all I’ve got in the works for me now. I’ll have to get my butt in gear and get all these ideas to become beautiful stories that can stand on their own.

Also, I wanted to share this picture with you. It’s a bottle of Red Zinfandel I’d picked up at the liquor store in town, it was right next to the Witches Brew. I love anything zombie, so this really tickled me.

Zombie Wine

Sorry, guys. I realized after I’d posted that the pic wasn’t on here. I hope it works this time.

Oh, and by the way, share any thoughts on the Halloween season. Do you like it? Do you love it? Do you loathe it? What are your traditions for the season?

Comments
  1. cripleh says:

    Halloween isn’t that big a deal over here in the UK. Some kids still do trick or treating but it’s minimal. We don’t tend to go for it in the same big way as you guys do over there. I did have the pleasure of doing a ghost walk around my home town of Dumfries last year though.

    However, the BBC did show Ghostwatch on Halloween Night in 1992 and I remember it freaking me the hell out. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghostwatch

    • Don’t take this the wrong way, but it’s a shame you guys don’t get into it a little more. I’m just bummed I don’t have an adult costume party to go to. I’ll check out the video u mentioned though, I love anything even remotely spooky or supernatural (so long as it’s done right, mind you). Thanks for the comment, n have a happy Halloween.

      • cripleh says:

        At a guess it’s probably because we have Bonfire Night on November 5th, celebrating the fact that Guy Fawkes didn’t blow up Westminster all those years ago. A historical event that V For Vendetta riffs from quite well.

        That said, my six year old son has his Darth Vader costume ready and my Mum is throwing a small party for him and his cousin which I’ll end up at so it’s all cool.

      • I see. I’d known about that holiday n forgotten all about it. I hope you have a great time.
        And Darth Vader is probably one of the best villians of all time. That’s part of what makes Halloween so great, the kids getting so excited over it. Take care and have fun.

Leave a Reply

