A Plethora of Ideas

Posted: November 19, 2012 in Discussions, On Writing
Tags: , , , ,

You’re all going to think I’m ridiculous, and a bit crazy, but I have this problem.

I have TONS of ideas, and not enough time to write them all. I want to. It would be great to have one story for every idea, but it’s not reasonable to expect myself to be able to write that much.

I realize there are daily online activities I do that can be cut in order to make more time for my writing, such as checking the news, checking out new sites, logging on to social networking sites, shopping, etc. As of tomorrow, I’ll work harder to stay away from these time sucking traps.

But I wonder, will my writing speed ever catch up to my idea creating speed?

Unlikely.

If I live to be a hundred, I’ll probably never write every single story I’ve written down an idea for. I’d like to though.

It’s not like I can just stop coming up with new ideas. And if I were to come up with ideas and stop writing them down, in order to write all the ones I’ve had for a while, that HOLY GRAIL of ideas just may pass me by. You know what I mean by that, right? The HOLY GRAIL of ideas is that one perfect idea that turns into the most amazing work you’ve ever written and gets you published, as well as riches, and world-wide notoriety. No one wants that one to slip by.

I’ve heard this is a problem (or un-problem if you look at it that way) that many writers have. Most of us have overflowing idea files. Do the rest of you not know what to do with them all too?

Part of my problem is that I’m not organized when it comes to my ideas. Nearly all of them are hand written, and spread across three different notebooks (composition, so I can’t just rip the pages with the ideas out). A good idea for me would be to set aside some time to go through and organize my ideas, say once a week or so that way I keep up on it.

Is this senseless whining or do you guys get what I’m saying here? It’s frustrating, to me at least. Though it looks like all I can do is increase my writing time each day and get more organized.

Thoughts? Comments? Ideas? Please do share. The comment box is always open.

 

Comments
  1. I can identify with this. I have a small notebook full of ideas, plots, snippets of thoughts. And now I’m half way through another book that I’m filling with ideas. Plus I have several word documents filled with ideas. I know that I should organize all these ideas into one place but that would take away from time writing. Plus I keep getting new ideas. All you can do is try to keep up to some degree and record as much as you can. At least we don’t have to worry about scrounging for ideas though!

    • That’s exactly why I haven’t sat down to organize my ideas as well. I can’t justify spending the time that could be used on my writing.
      Way to look at the glass half full though. =]
      Thanks for the comment.

  2. I so understand. I always did benefit from a comment/advice made that an idea is just an idea is just an idea until it is product, like a piece of draft writing, a sketch, a model. So the idea file is a good place to browse for prompts. At my age (am retired) I never did get to all the ideas but I learnt how to take the idea into a something, invest the sweat of me.

    Also, sometimes the ideas focus to a topic, place, portrait. Can ideas be organized by a bigger category (food, love, broken heart, joy)?

    For writing, I write every A.M. and visit P.M.s when my best energy already applied to my writing work.

    Take care

    • Thank you for your input.
      Sometimes I’ll find that some of my ideas tie in together. It’s exciting to be able to get two ideas to meet and form something unexpected but wonderful.
      I’m looking forward to checking out your blog. Have a great day. =]

Leave a Reply

